Not seeing a Scroll to Top Button? Go to our FAQ page for more info.
Dr Das is currently Vice Chairman of the L V Prasad Eye Institute. He is Professor of Ophthalmology at the Sun Yet-Sen University, Guangzhou, China; and Adjunct Professor of Ophthalmology at University of Rochester Medical School, Rochester, NY, USA; and Fellow, National Academy of Medical Sciences, India.
Trained in medical and surgical management of vitreo retinal diseases he has received 18 research grants and has led or currently leading a number of research programs in diabetic retinopathy and public health. He also has active clinical and research interest in infective endophthalmitis. He has published 245 papers including 40 book chapters and has authored or edited 8 books. He has given more than 350 lectures in the country and abroad.
The current leadership positions of Dr Das include: Regional Chair, International Agency for Prevention of Blindness (IAPB) Southeast Asia; President, Asia Pacific Vitreo- Retinal Society (APVRS); Member, Research Committee, Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO); Associate Editor, Asia Pacific Journal of  Ophthalmology (APJO); Member, Editorial Board, Ophthalmic Research; Member, International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) Ophthalmology Specialty (Vitreo retina) Training; Chairman, Ethics Committee, Indian Institute of Public health (IIPH); Member of Board, VISION 2020 India; Member, Advisory Committee, 13th Five Year Plan, Governemnt of India; and Member, Member Task Force, Diabetic Retinopathy, Government of India, and Mentor, Leadership Development Program, Asia pacific Vitreo- Retinal Society
He is also former President of All India Ophthalmological Society (AIOS) and Vitreo Retinal Society of India (VRSI), and the Chairman, Program committee (Retina), Assocation of Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO), USA. The Indian Journal of Ophthalmology (IJO) celebrated the golden jubilee when he was the Editor-in-Chief of the journal.
Dr Das has delivered 13 named lectures, has received 24 awards from state and national societies (1993- 2015) in India, from the Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO, 2006 and 2013) and the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO, 2003 and 2015). He was conferred Doctorate of Science (Honaris Causa) by the Raveshaw University in year 2011. Government of India conferred high civilian honor (Padma Shri) in year 2013.
All presenters will be required to register for the Congress no later than June 10, 2017
Dear Delegates
Thank you for your abstract submissions for the 2nd World Congress of Optometry.

We have received over 650 abstracts in total for the conference and appreciate your enthusiasm and willingness to participate in the congress.

The scientific committee is working diligently to review the abstract submission. We intend to inform you of the outcomes by end of May 2017.

Best Wishes
World Congress
Scientific Committee Members.
Early bird registration offer will be extended to all selected abstracts
Key dates to remember
Abstracts for oral, poster and workshop presentations has been closed

Authors will receive written notification of abstract acceptance by End of May, 2017

All presenters will be required to register for the Congress no later than June 10, 2017.

The closing date for submission for clinical photograph is April 17, 2017.

Registrations are Open Now
Delegates registered under students category are requested to furnish their registration ID and college ID card’s or certificate from your respective institute confirming you as a student which will be verified and approved by the Organizing Committee at
More Hotels are Coming Up Soon…!

Bookings are now open for:

Formule 1
OYO Room Devi Inn
For Hotel enquiry, please contact at
Please submit your abstract for Clinical Photographs
Bootstrap Slider
 The 2nd World Congress of Optometry Sponsors
Message from WCO President About Hyderabad Scientific Programme
India Vision Institute
C/o Gullapalli Pratibha Rao International Centre for Advancement of Rural Eye care (GPR ICARE)
L V Prasad Eye Institute Kismatpur Campus Don Bosco Nagar PO, Near: Kali Mandir,
Hyderabad - 500 086, Telangana, India
T : +91 40 23548269  I  M : +91 8309326648
Message from Conference Chair The Venue Call for Abstracts
Message from IVI CEO Getting to Hyderabad Registration Fees
Message from APCO President Visas Register Online
Why Should You Attend Hotels Media
Committee General Information Interested in Exhibiting?
Organisers Our Exhibitors Map

This site is optimised for 1024X768 screen resolution. Copyright 2016-17 WCO 2017. All rights reserved.
Website designed & developed by ICE